ViewGeneva 304
Home Mobile

World Languages Department

 
In today's global society, learning a second language is key to understanding other cultures and becoming a global citizen. In providing that opportunity for students, the GHS World Languages department offers programs in French, German and Spanish. Students can take regular or honors classes in all three languages as well as Level V AP classes. Our World Languages classes offer authentic learning experiences for each of the target languages through the four essential components of reading, writing, speaking and listening.

Knowing a second language is a 21st century skill that gives students advantages in applying to colleges and for future career options. Most GHS students take 3-4 years of a World Language during high school; many even enroll in a second World Language. The WL department also offers student travel opportunities every year for authentic learning experiences. During the summer of 2022, there are three trips planned depending on which language the student is taking: Spain, Germany and France. These trips allow students to enhance and expand on language and culture learned in the classroom.

Geneva High School is a Seal of Biliteracy school. We offer all seniors in levels IV and V of one of our World Languages classes the opportunity to take an exam to achieve Seal of Biliteracy or Commendation of Biliteracy recognition through the State of Illinois. This recognition goes on the student's diploma as well as their transcript, and signifies that they have obtained a high level of proficiency in English as well as Spanish, French or German.

Faculty

 
Jessie Egan
Department Chair
 
All emails followed by: @geneva304.org

French
Martha Behlow (mbehlow)
Toni Tortorello-Allaway (aallaway)
 
German
Rene Swidenbank (rswidenbank)
Karen Kosog (kkosog)
 
Spanish 
Elyse Barron (ebarron)
Jessie Egan (jegan)
Lynn Fors (lfors)
Susannah Hamilton (shamilton)
Madison Joiner (mjoiner)
Jessica Lehan (jlehan)
Elizabeth Morrison (emorrison)
Joanna Parrin (jparrin)
Gina Thomas (gthomas)


 
 
Geneva We Are Logo
Geneva School District 304 strives to keep up-to-date and accurate information on this website. Some information, however, may be outdated. Please call for the most up-to-date information. Geneva School District 304 is not responsible for the appearance, content, or validity of any 3rd party pop-up pages that may occur as the reuslt of using these web pages(s).